Perspectives on Spiritual, Intellectual and Pastoral Issues: Host – Lowell Qualls

Hope Reprised

It’s been three years … 3 YEARS!! … since I took to the keyboard.   My hope is that you missed me, and that you’ll connect with me at a new, and deeper level.

A friend gave me a small, laminated post-it with the following circular outline:

  1.  Healthy things grow
  2. Growing things change
  3. Changing things challenge us
  4. Challenge forces us to trust God
  5. Trust leads to obedience
  6. Obedience makes us healthy
  7. Healthy things grow

At some point in time I stopped being healthy.  I am having to discover the truth of point number 4 – “Challenge forces us to trust God” – and I am in pain.   Self-inflicted wounds are the worst for they usually are not fatal, but they leave terrible scars.  And I am sad because my self-inflicted wounds don’t just pain me, but those around me suffer, too.

I know I’m being FORCED to trust God now, today.  (I thought I knew what it meant to trust Him.  I presumed to be an expert in trusting Him … but if trust was meant to walk and live in obedience, my true state of heart was revealed.  I heard His voice but ignored His commands and went my own way.)

In my case, my hope in God is a confident assurance that God will, in time, bring me back to spiritual health, that “all things” will work together for the good, and that my destiny, while delayed, is not “dead.”

Pray for me.

 

Leave a Reply

