Perspectives on Spiritual, Intellectual and Pastoral Issues: Host – Lowell Qualls

The Shack

I recently finished the bestselling book, The Shack (by Wm. Paul Young, published by Windblown Media, Newbury Park, CA.)

I encourage you to read it. I’m so glad I did. But …

I didn’t read it for instruction in theology, or to build on my theological foundation. I read the book for pure enjoyment, and enjoy it I did.

Without giving away the plot, I came away from my own “Shack experience” with a better understanding of myself; how I’ve tended to live with fear and weighed down by guilt. Young spoke my heart language.

If you want a peek into someone’s (Young’s) imaginative perception of God, The Shack is a good book for you.

One more thing. It’s not an “easy read” if you want to savor Young’s imagery. Take your time.

And … after you read the book, send your comments to me, or if you’ve already read it, I’d love to hear from you. You’ll make me work hard if I have to edit out any comments that contain references to the content of the book, but I’ll do that for the benefit of those who haven’t read it yet.

While you read …

Think!

Comments on: "The Shack" (2)

  1. I appreciate your review: An encouragement to open our eyes and hearts to a story but with the caution to think through the ideas critically. Thanks also for your comment on my post about The Shack. I hope you won’t take this as a contradiction of what I said there :)

  2. Actually Nathan, I thought your observations were brilliant. The idea that we can build our theology upon “Christian” fiction, and many do, worries me like it worries you because we’ve seen it happen. I certainly have. Many, many believers are lazy; they rely upon entertaining and creative books and articles that have Christ-centered themes with which to build their faith (if you can call it that), all the while neglecting the Bible.

    Concerning those “creative books and articles” mentioned above, I do believe – because I think their hearts are in the right place – that the authors of the materials you cited (i.e., Jabez, Left Behind, etc.) never intended for their books to become bedrock. I believe these authors created works that reflected their own beliefs while never presuming to force their opinions on others. LaHaye is definitely in that category. While he has said he’s put his beliefs about “the end times” into his series, he also states that many people of faith don’t see things his way – but that’s okay. (I like that.)

    Concerning your observations, in fairness to you I zeroed in on just a few of your remarks and “waxed brilliantly.” Ha! While I do believe there is A universal Truth (Jesus Christ is the Son of God), and while I do have a few other “essentials” in my theology that I will go to mat on, I also believe there are what I would call “unessentials” that are also true; unessentials that I do not believe in or hold to (principles/truths/facts). In other words, I may be flat out wrong about some very important things. I’m willing to adjust. I love talking about those things, and investigating possibilities. Water baptism, communion (wine or juice), and women in ministry are a FEW examples of what I’m talking about.

    One more thought. While you and I may enjoy the blogosphere, and while we may enjoy holding debates on a myriad of subjects, Paul warned us to avoid chattering on and on about “meaningless things.”

    So … I will cease waxing (wax on, wax off) and say goodnight.

    Blessings, and Aloha!

Leave a Reply

