Perspectives on Spiritual, Intellectual and Pastoral Issues: Host – Lowell Qualls

Friends, please watch this video.

Comments on: "The Love of God for Muslims" (4)

  1. She says her husband is a fanatical Islamic follower, as unfortunate as her situation is, her comments about no freedom in Islam wouldn’t be fair to more progressive followers who have successfully integrated with more western thought and societies. People can find peace or suffering in the fundamentalism of any religion.

    http://www.QuestioCunctus.com

  2. After reading this comment I wondered, “Why was fairness (‘… wouldn’t be fair to …’) brought to mind by this person?”

    If you happen to read this, ForPrez’24, please tell me exactly what you meant.

    I’d like to respond to some bits of this comment. First, I think I’m agreeing with you when I say that it is unfortunate that this lady’s husband is a fanatical believer in Islam if that means she can’t believe what she want to believe, or worship in any way she see fit.

    Next, I believe her comments about “no freedom” in Islam are factual. I know there must be more religions in the world that kill those who dispute their doctrines, but nothing like Islam in scope or quantity. Everyday almost 70,000 Christians (some say lower, some higher) are killed because of their faith. This puts the Inquisition and the Crusades in a favorable light, believe it or not. Every day. Not over years, but in a 24 hour stretch. Islam’s prophet, Mohammed, told his followers that if people didn’t convert to Islam’s teachings and swear allegiance to Allah, they should be killed.

    Also, I didn’t get the term “progressive followers” of Islam. If that means those “who have successfully integrated with western thought and societies,” those Muslims are in direct violation of the Koran. There can be no compromise when it comes to beliefs and practices. Now, if you mean that Islam has successfully integrated into Western countries, agreed. The West is open to just about anything, so that would be an easy proposition. Islam is just taking advantage of the naivete of Western peoples, those who think that anyone can believe anything they want because it’s “live and let live” here in America, Britain, France, Germany, etc.

    As to your comment about finding peace, are you talking about spiritual or political peace? When it comes to Islam, their track record indicates that political peace, even when an entire nation declares itself to be Islamic (see Pakistan), is one of dictatorship, death, terror, assassinations, bombings, and the lack of freedom to go anywhere or do anything one wishes.

    I’ve been in many Islamic nations, and the next-to-last thing they possess is political freedom. In my inquiries and conversations with “Joe-on-the-street” Muslim I have found that the LAST thing they have is spiritual peace. They have no confidence that what they believe guarantees anything other than an ordered existence in this world. There is no confident assurance that the Muslim believe is heaven bound … unless they blow themselves up while killing people. If you’re not committing homicide-suicide in the name of Allah, he (Allah) might not take into account the sincere obedience of his follower. A Muslim could practice all the laws and sacraments of Islam, and still the Koran says that NO ONE is guaranteed salvation because Allah might not feel like granting it because he doesn’t feel like it. He might be in a bad mood when you arrive at the gate of heaven and just say, “Nope. No one today gets in … except those who killed or got killed in Jihad.”

    If you haven’t read the Koran, I recommend it. That a billion plus people, most of whom can’t read, believe Mohammed wrote the very words of God is amazing enough, but having read the Koran I can see why those who can read might be taken by its contents. The prophet would have been a convincing front man for just about any enterprise he entered into. And I’m not suggesting that Mohammed lied, or that he set out to deceive his relatives and neighbors. He may have had visitations from the spirit world that gave him, word for word, what he recorded.

    I’ve made a choice. I will put my eternal future into the hands of Jesus. He didn’t just claim to be a prophet (he did that), but He also claimed to be the Son of God, and the Savior sent to this world to pay my sin debt. I’m counting on that. The New Testament is much more believable than the Koran. I don’t have to wonder about the character of it’s writers, or the deity of it’s single focus – the person of Christ.

    After listening to the woman in the video cry out for Jesus, I love Him even more. He would never reject such an honest seeker, or hold her in fear for the rest of her days. She was responding to the love of God expressed in the Person of Jesus, and not bowing to the fear that comes from forced allegiance.

    Lord Jesus, continue to work in this world … and work through me. That’s my prayer.

  3. I generally don’t care to compare historical tragedy for the simple reason that its highly subject to the available technology, certainly your free to make the argument though. The argument that those who adapt to fit western lifestyle are disregarding the Qaran could be true(I’ve not read it personally to know), but it can’t be that different from the way Christian doctrine has been adapted to so many different factional viewpoints (funny how it gets easier to do as you get away from literal reading and taking it symbolically). I was refering to spiritual peace, I’ve yet to see a religion reach political peace with another on a level greater than tolerance, well maybe a couple eastern theories, but it never functions well on the nation level.

    If questioned on faith, I’d place it in God. Jesus might condemn me for not raving about him, but I believe my willingness to embrace the ideas from many faiths will serve me better than assuming he knew the only way. I think Jesus was too quick to condemn those who didn’t turn to him, perhaps they just needed the message in a different way to accept the infinite divine. I’m perfectly aware the bible thinks this is blasphemy, but I believe making the effort to see the value in all is better than condemning some.

  4. ForPrez’24: Thank you for responding. I appreciate your answers to my questions. I also, and sincerely, appreciate your tolerance for my views on religion. I enjoy having conversations about belief, religion, philosophy, life, death, and the like. I have to admit that I get pretty wound up when it comes to politics – wishing I could rein in my frustrations and keep my opinions to myself. Ah, but such is not the case. I’m a flawed human being in that regard, but I’m working on it.

    Again, thank you for writing back. And if you wish to continue our conversation, or address another issue, let me know. Feel free to get the ball rolling by asking me a question or two.

    Blessings and Aloha!

Leave a Reply

