Perspectives on Spiritual, Intellectual and Pastoral Issues: Host – Lowell Qualls

I’m praying for Patrick Swayze, and not because it might be the hip thing to do, or the right thing to say.  I’m really praying for him. 

Swayze has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  It’s fast and its deadly, and having gone through a cancer battle with my late wife, I know just a little about how that diagnosis can rock your world.

swayze-ghostx-large.jpgI feel like I know him.  Some of the movies Swayze starred in are among my favorites:  Red Dawn, Dirty Dancing, Road House, Ghost, and Point Break.

Patrick, this is my prayer for you … or something like it:

“Lord Jesus, if You speak the word, Patrick will be healed.  I’m asking You to do just that … speak the word that Patrick is free and clear of cancer, and that You are giving him a life extension.  And in the process of healing him, let Patrick know – if he doesn’t already – that he not only needs You to heal his disease but that he also needs a ‘Savior.’  The biggest ‘cancer’ we, the human race have, is sin, and You died on the Cross to pay our sin debt.  Let Patrick come to believe that You are who You say You are, and that He can trust You.  And I’m also praying, Lord, for his wife – Lisa.  Lord Jesus, draw her into Your arms like a loving father would lift up a child after she has fallen down.  And please do all this because we’re asking, and You said we could … in Your name.  Amen.”

Comments on: "Dancing with Patrick Swayze" (2)

  1. Rhonda Pelletier said:

    Thank you Mr. Qualls for that wonderful prayer. I believe that said it all. It was wonderfully stated

    “The biggest ‘cancer’ we, the human race has, is sin, and You died on the Cross to pay our sin debt.” and of course…..

    “Lord Jesus, draw her into Your arms like a loving father would lift up a child after she has fallen down. And please do all this because we’re asking, and You said we could … in Your name. Amen.” God Bless you!

  2. Rhonda, thanks for writing, and for the sweet compliments.

    Could I ask, how did you came upon my article? Just curious. I’m so new at this blogging thing. I love doing it. It’s fun. But I want to learn how things work.

    Blessings, and Aloha! LQ

Leave a Reply

