Perspectives on Spiritual, Intellectual and Pastoral Issues: Host – Lowell Qualls

EPIC – New Perspectives

Mt. Everest 

   People have been asking me, “What are you doing?” My response, typically, is, “I’m writing … and waiting.” I’m writing articles and books (like “One Little Bite” “Dancing With The Healer,” “At Cross Purposes,” and “Under New Management”), and I’m waiting for God to open doors that will allow for face-to-face ministry … ministry to congregations and pastors.

The only clues I’ve received from Him as to what I might be doing in the future revolve around the following paragraphs that describe something called “EPIC.” Back in June and July of 2005 God spoke to me about the following:

EPIC (Eternal Perspectives In Christ, or E-Perspectives International Corporation) will “Challenge Conventional Thinking, Provide Innovative Solutions, and Produce World-Changing People” in two spheres:

1. The way churches and pastors approach and do local, national and international missions (including the support and selection of home and foreign missionaries in particular) and mission trips (cultural exposures, building/construction, medical, evangelistic, etc.), and …
2. The way pastors and church leaders approach local church ministry.

These two primary goals will be accomplished by using four means or methods:

1. Books and magazine articles,


2. Seminars and conferences,


3. Video materials, and …


4. One-on-one mentoring relationships

By “Challenge Conventional Thinking” I mean, to address the American and Western postmodern Church “consumer mindset,” and the misplaced priorities and values of that Church. I believe these things are rooted in secular, contemporary culture (that has been shaped by postmodern, existential, nihilistic, and relativistic philosophies) as opposed to being based upon the teachings of Jesus Christ concerning the Kingdom of God.

I believe the end result will be changed churches and church leaders – “World-Changers,” or “World-Changing People.” These churches and church leaders would not be “mainstream” as much as they would be “swimming up stream” – against the current of the culture. Scary thought, eh?

In order to bring about change, I hope to “Provide Innovative Solutions” to the contemporary Church. I believe that by reexamining biblical principles, values and priorities, change will occur in the Church to better reflect Kingdom principles, values and priorities. I will be using the following to encourage change: print and electronic media, teaching that revolves around what I have learned about these things after 30+ years of ministry, introducing current “World-Changers” to my audiences, and opportunities to experience (“hands-on”) intercultural adventures. I will also make myself available to mentor prospective “World-Changers.”

Leave a Reply

